Acute Self

Acute Self is based on Marcel Duchamp's Nude Descending Staircase 
and investigates how a person occupies space as they move. 
The viewer’s movement generates a 3 dimensional geometric shape. This shape 
then changes its perspective as you continue to move from side to side. The viewer 
can experience the virtual space they have created through their movement. This project 
investigates how we interface with the amalgamation of the digital and physical space. 
The viewer is given the opportunity to investigate and interact with their own 
movement as well as experience how they occupy their digital and physical space.

This exhibition was first presented at the Digital Art Live screens in
Auckland and is made possible throught the support of Creative New Zealand, CoLab and AUT.

                      Author: Interrupt Collective
                      Artistic Director: Johann Nortje
                      Developer: Ben Jack
                      Producer: Harry Silver
                      Technical Support: Kim Newall

                       Digital Art Live - 2012
                       Wellington LUX - 2012
                       Tiger Translate Auckland - 2013
                       Ted X Auckland - 2013
                       Survive and Thrive - 2013


My photo
Interrupt is a collective of digital-media artists, interaction designers, live video performers and sonic artists working across a range of live performance projects and installations. The binding principle of the collective is to generate experimental work that explores the boundaries between architecture, video, performance, sound and interaction. Alongside multiple theatre projects, the members of Interrupt have been involved in The Performance Arcade Aotea Square 2011, Random Acts 2011, StageSpace 2011, The WGTN LUX Symposium 2011, The Performance Arcade 2011, Prague Quadrennial 2011, Art in the Dark 2012, Tiger Translate Auckland 2013, WGTN LUX 2013, Ted X Auckland 2013, Auckland Festival of Arts and the Wellington International Arts Festival. In 2011 Interrupt also received a Best Design Award, as well as the Critics Wild Card Award at the Chapman Tripp Theatre awards for outstanding A/V design. Interrupt includes Johann Nortje, Stuart Foster, Harry Silver, Angus Woodhams and Kris Henning.